Home > very fine books > find by publisher > Easton Press > Collections >

Easton Press, Susan Cooper "THE DARK IS RISING" Signed Limited Edition Leather Bound w/COA, 5-Vol. Set [Sealed]
Easton Press, Susan Cooper "THE DARK IS RISING" Signed Limited Edition Leather Bound w/COA, 5-Vol. Set [Sealed]

Photos of actual item. Mouse over image to zoom

VERY FINE GUARANTEED. Sealed. As New. The condition is of the highest quality for all five volumes. A wonderful bright clean copy, free of any markings, writings, or stamps. No attached bookplates or indication of any removed. Unread. Not even a single scratch on the gilded page edges. A RARE set. Photos of actual collection

Publisher: Easton Press (2011)
Edition: Signed Limited Edition w/COA
Binding: Full Genuine Leather
Illustrator: see description for details
Dimensions: Each volume 9" x 6" x 1.5"

Availability: In Stock w/Same Day Shipping
Product Code: 44-111

Description About the author SIGNATURE AUTHENTICITY
"Susan Cooper is one of the few contemporary writers who has the vivid imagination, the narrative power, and the moral vision that permit her to create the kind of sweeping conflict between good and evil that lies at the heart of all great fantasy. Tolkien had it. So did C. S. Lewis. And Cooper writes in the same tradition." -- "Psychology Today"

THE DARK IS RISING: 5-Volume Leather-Bound Set By Easton Press

The Dark Is Rising personally signed by Susan Cooper

Norwalk: Easton Press, 2011. Susan Cooper "The Dark Is Rising" This is the 5-volume hardcover leather bound complete set. Black leather blocked in blue and gilt; all edges gilt; moiré silk endpapers; ribbon bookmarks. A very fine new set still in publisher's shrink-wrap without any flaws.. Volume 2 is signed by the author. Each volume is leather-bound, accented in 22kt gold, printed on archival paper with gilded edges and comes with an attached silk ribbon page marker.

This is Susan Cooper's masterful fantasy set in England and Wales, incorporating English and Welsh Arthurian and folk hero traditions. The second volume is a Newberry Honor, and the 4th is a Newberry Medal. The entire Sequence won the Margaret A. Edwards ALA Award in 2012.

This set includes the following five novels:

  1. The Dark is Rising — personally signed by Susan Cooper wit Certificate of Authenticity (COA)
  2. Over Sea, Under Stone
  3. Greenwitch
  4. The Grey King
  5. Silver on the Tree


The Dark Is Rising is a series of five contemporary fantasy novels for older children and young adults that was written by the British author Susan Cooper and published 1965 to 1977. The Dark Is Rising, the second novel in the series, was published in 1973.

The series is sometimes called The Dark Is Rising Sequence, which is the title of its UK omnibus edition (first 1984) and its US boxed set edition (first 1986). It depicts a struggle between forces of good and evil called the Light and the Dark and is based on Arthurian legends, Celtic mythology, Norse mythology and English Folklore. Both magical and ordinary children are prominent throughout the series. It was inaugurated in 1965 with the U.K. publication of Over Sea, Under Stone by Jonathan Cape. The sequels were published 1973 to 1977, almost simultaneously in the U.K. and the U.S. Volume four, The Grey King (1975), won both the Newbery Medal, recognizing the year's "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children", and the inaugural Welsh Tir na n-Og Award for English-language books with Welsh background. The concluding Silver on the Tree (1977) also won the annual Tir na n-Og Award.

The novel The Dark Is Rising features Will Stanton, age 11,[b] who learns on that birthday that he is an "Old One" and thus destined to wield the powers of The Light in the ancient struggle with The Dark. In the U.S. it was a Newbery Honor Book (runner up for the medal).[3] Its 2007 film adaptation, titled The Seeker in America and The Dark Is Rising in Britain, made significant plot and character divergences from the book.


Includes all the classic Easton Press qualities:

* Premium Leather
* Silk Moire Endleaves
* Distinctive Cover Design
* Hubbed Spine, Accented in Real 22KT Gold
* Satin Ribbon Page Marker
* Gilded Page Edges
* Long-lasting, High Quality Acid-neutral Paper
* Smyth-sewn Pages for Strength and Durability
* Beautiful Illustrations

Average Customer Review: Average Customer Review: 5 of 5 5 of 5 Total Reviews: 1 Write a review.

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5 of 5 These look awesome on my bookshelf. February 14, 2020
Reviewer: Mary from California  
A wonderful set of books for the collector. I couldn't be happier with the quality, packaging, and shipping. Great job!

Was this review helpful to you?

Browse for more books in the same category:

very fine books > find by publisher > Easton Press > Collections
new arrivals
very fine books > find by publisher > Easton Press
very fine books > find by publisher