Home > navigation > featured books >

Delia Owens "Where the Crawdads Sing" dj/HC Signed First Edition/Later Printing [Fine/Fine]
Delia Owens "Where the Crawdads Sing" dj/HC Signed First Edition


 
Photos of actual item. Mouse over image to zoom


Fine/Fine. Unread book with square and tight spine. The dust-jacket is now protected in a brand new archival acid-free Brodart sleeve. A wonderful bright clean copy without any bookplates attached or indication of any removed. No marks, writing, stamps. This is a highly collectible signed book of the NY Times Best-seller!

  $125.00
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons. Copyright 2018.
Edition: Signed First Edition/Later Printing
Binding: Hardcover with dust jacket
Illustrator: read description for details
Dimensions: 9" x 6" x 2"


Availability: PRE-ORDER (Ships on April 15th, 2019)
Product Code: 183-120

Description SIGNATURE AUTHENTICITY
 

Personally signed by Delia Owens directly into the book!

G.P. Putnam's Sons. Copyright 2018. Delia Owens "Where The Crawdads Sing". Signed first edition, later printing. Hardcover book with dust-jacket. Personally signed by the author Delia Owens directly into the book. A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick.

“I can’t even express how much I love this book! I didn’t want this story to end!”–Reese Witherspoon

“Painfully beautiful.”–The New York Times Book Review


From New York Times bestselling nature writer Delia Owens, this is the debut novel about an unforgettable young woman making her way alone in the wilds of North Carolina.

New York Times Bestseller for 27 weeks (so far) currently:

#1 Hardcover Fiction

#1 Combined Print & E-Book Fiction

#1 Audio Fiction


About the book

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.




An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review

Book Reviews

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature….Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on…Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching…A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative…Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel…A lyrical debut.”—Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl…Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical…Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward….absorbing.”—AARP

“Compelling, original…A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”—ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”—Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”—David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Planning the Crawdads Movie

In LA with Reese Witherspoon planning the Crawdads movie! I’m so grateful to Reese, Hello Sunshine, and Fox 2000 for their support of Where the Crawdads Sing.

"Where the Crawdads Sing" author Delia Owens

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category:

navigation > featured books
new arrivals
navigation > find by publisher